The poet x
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : [Prince Frederick, Md.] : Harper Audio ; [Distributed by] RBdigital, 2018, p2018.
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
1 online resource (3 hr., 30 min.), Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 5
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Rating:
12 years and up
Status:
RBDigital
Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062822482
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-LowL
Lexile measure:
800
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, E. (20182018). The poet x. Unabridged. New York : [Prince Frederick, Md.]: Harper Audio ; [Distributed by] RBdigital.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth. 20182018. The Poet X. New York : [Prince Frederick, Md.]: Harper Audio ; [Distributed by] RBdigital.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth, The Poet X. New York : [Prince Frederick, Md.]: Harper Audio ; [Distributed by] RBdigital, 20182018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth. The Poet X. Unabridged. New York : [Prince Frederick, Md.]: Harper Audio ; [Distributed by] RBdigital, 20182018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3adbc38a-c6c9-9479-859e-a1ffd7bfec84
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeOct 25, 2019 10:28:43 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 20, 2019 10:28:05 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03206nim a22004211a 4500
001rbdZ100126843
003MdPfRBL
00520180312020102.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuneu
007cr nnannnuuuua
008121004r20182018nyunnnndo      z  n eng d
020 |a 9780062822482
02801|a Z100126843|b Recorded Books
040 |a MdPfRBL|b eng|c MdPfRBL
1001 |a Acevedo, Elizabeth.
24514|a The poet x|h [electronic resource] /|c Elizabeth Acevedo.
250 |a Unabridged.
260 |a New York :|b Harper Audio ;|a [Prince Frederick, Md.] :|b [Distributed by] RBdigital,|c 2018, p2018.
300 |a 1 online resource (3 hr., 30 min.)
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
538 |a Requires RBdigital Media Manager.
538 |a System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA.
500 |a Downloadable audio file.
500 |a Title from title screen.
506 |a Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
5110 |a Narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo.
530 |a Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
520 |a "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." -Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation "An incredibly potent debut." -Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost "Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." -Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers-especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
521 |a 12 years and up
650 7|a YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Novels in Verse.|2 bisacsh
655 4|a Downloadable audio books.
655 7|a Audiobooks.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Acevedo, Elizabeth.|4 nrt
7102 |a HarperCollins (Firm).
85640|u https://lioninc.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780062822482
8564 |3 Image|u https://d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net/Z100126843/Z100126843_image_95x140.jpg
945 |c (OCoLC)1028860235