The poet X
(CD Audiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
[Ashland, Oregon] : Blackstone, 2018.
Format:
CD Audiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
3 audio discs (3 1/2 hr.) ; 12 cm
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 5
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Status:

1 copy on order.
Description

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Old Saybrook/Acton YA Book on CD
NEW YACD ACEVEDO
On Shelf
Woodbridge Young Adult Books on CD
YA CD ACEVEDO
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Wallingford Public Library On Order
ON ORDER
On Order
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781538500231, 153850023X, 9781538500217
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
800

Notes

General Note
Title from container.
General Note
"HarperAudio."
Participants/Performers
Read by the author.
Description
When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, E. (2018). The poet X. Unabridged. [Ashland, Oregon]: Blackstone.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth. 2018. The Poet X. [Ashland, Oregon]: Blackstone.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth, The Poet X. [Ashland, Oregon]: Blackstone, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Acevedo, Elizabeth. The Poet X. Unabridged. [Ashland, Oregon]: Blackstone, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3adbc38a-c6c9-9479-859e-a1ffd7bfec84
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 09, 2019 09:25:32 AM
Last File Modification TimeOct 09, 2019 09:31:49 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 20, 2019 10:28:05 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01738pim 2200469 i 4500
001BK0021491959
00520180315084324.0
007sd fungnnmmned
008180228s2018    orunnnnj       f  n eng d
1001 |a Acevedo, Elizabeth,|e author,|e narrator.
655 7|a Children's audiobooks.|2 lcgft
650 1|a Poets|v Fiction.
651 1|a Harlem (New York, N.Y.)|v Fiction.
650 1|a Novels in verse.
650 1|a Audiobooks.
250 |a Unabridged.
020 |a 9781538500231
020 |a 153850023X
020 |a 9781538500217
010 |a bl2018028831
500 |a Title from container.
500 |a "HarperAudio."
5110 |a Read by the author.
520 |a When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
264 1|a [Ashland, Oregon] :|b Blackstone,|c 2018.
300 |a 3 audio discs (3 1/2 hr.) ;|c 12 cm
306 |a 033000
336 |a spoken word|2 rdacontent
337 |a audio|2 rdamedia
338 |a audio disc|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|2 rda
347 |a audio file|2 rda|b CD audio
24514|a The poet X /|c a novel by Elizabeth Acevedo.
037 |b Blackstone Pub, Special Markets Po Box 969, Ashland, OR, USA, 97520|n SAN 173-2811
040 |a NjBwBT|b eng|e rda|c NjBwBT|d NjBwBT|d WD
05014|a PZ7.5.A348|b Po 2018b
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a FIC
998 |e -|d i |a os|a wa|a wd
907 |a .b25909988
945 |y .i63060644|i 33520001343993|l osybc|s -|h |u 1|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 71|z 07-15-19|o -|a NEW YACD ACEVEDO
945 |y .i61980626|i 21802491213|l wdybc|s -|h |u 7|x 2|w 5|v 1|t 71|z 10-31-18|o -|a YA CD ACEVEDO